Aims & Aspirations for 2011


As it’s the new year I find it hard to resist the temptation to blog about my aspirations for 2011 as a youth coach and hence here is a blog on my aspirations for 2011! Firstly though, I feel it’s worthwhile reflecting on 2010…

A year ago I hadn’t even started coaching. I’d thought about it and I’d been thinking about it for a couple of years but for various reasons (time, cost etc) I hadn’t taken the plunge, until June last summer when I finally decided it was time to get involved. It was June when I booked my place on the FA’s Level 1 course and July when I started this blog. I attended the Level 1 course over two weekends in mid-August and began coaching the U7s with my local FA Charter Standard club in September. I’ve since used this blog as a place to capture my early journey as a youth coach and what I’m learning along the way and so far I’m really enjoying it.

In addition to the coaching and experiences gained I must add that one of the most surprising & rewarding aspects of 2010, in the coaching context, is the amount of online material and information which is available to the coach of today. There are blogs, forums, articles and a wealth of fantastic people over on Twitter who’re happy to pass on their advice & opinion.

So, with that whistle-stop tour of 2010 out of the way, what’s my plan for 2011?

  • Continue to work with the U7s I’m coaching at the moment. They’ll start to play matches in September and I’m looking forward to continuing to develop them and see them in a game situation.
  • I’m hoping to work with more teams and kids of varying ages. Through the club I’m involved with I’ve put myself forward to help with some coaching they’re going to be doing at local primary & secondary schools over the coming months.
  • Working with other coaches – I’m aiming to take opportunities to work with more coaches, to observe them and see how they coach.
  • FA Youth Award Module 1 – I’m planning to take this in February.
  • FA Level 2 – I’m hoping to take and pass this by the end of 2011.
  • And finally, continue to have fun, to ensure the kids I coach have fun and continue to blog all about it.

I’m so glad I decided to get involved in coaching, it’s fantastically rewarding and I can’t wait to see what 2011 has in store.

About Simon
Grassroots Football Coach

Leave a Reply

