Planning the next session


I’m hoping to add a bit of structure to our session tomorrow night, rather than the ad-hoc approach I’ve taken so far. I’ve downloaded a coaching session plan and have written in the names of the games I’d like to play and I’ve also added next to them some of the key areas or objectives for each game, i.e. awareness, dribbling, control, decision making etc.

The success of the plan will depend on numbers but if we have a reasonably good turn-out then I should have a minimum of 6 in my group which should be sufficient for the games I’m hoping to use – these being, ‘Soccer Simon Says’, ‘Nutmeg soccer’ & a game of 3v3 or 4v4, possibly with 4 goals (thanks to http://www.footy4kids.co.uk/AnU7practice_plan.htm for the ideas).

What I also want to do in Wednesday’s session is start engaging the kids in what we’re doing by asking them questions. I asked for some advice on twitter last night and had some excellent feedback; the best of which means I shall be keeping the questions simple and will use the exercise to understand what kind of information I get back from U7 boys & girls. I’ve used the session plan to help me prepare a couple of questions in advance.

My preparation for the session on Wednesday is two-fold; 1. As ever, I hope it gives me the best possible opportunity to ensure the session is fun yet challenging for the kids and 2. I’m trying to ensure I get in to the right habits as a very new coach and I think planning the session & engaging the kids with questions are absolutely the right things to be doing.

We also have selection boxes to give the kids as instructed by the club committee (chocolates – morals!?) but the kids need to earn them so we’re currently trying to think of what we could challenge them with in order to “win” the chocs. I’m thinking of setting a challenge for a number of successful passes in the match we’ll have at the end. Any other ideas (if you’ve done this before) would be welcome πŸ™‚

I’ll be back as always to report on how this went.

About Simon
Grassroots Football Coach

2 Responses to Planning the next session

  1. Jill says:

    Hey there, what a great blog πŸ™‚

    I always find it interesting to get inside the mind of a solid coach who really plans structure for the advancement of the team’s skills. I know as an athlete I am always very drawn to the coaches who have a lot of things to offer, it was obvious they love what they do! Keep it up!

    Jill in Canada

    • Simon says:

      Thanks for the positive comment on the blog Jill.

      I’m just starting out but know I need to be able to plan sessions to ensure the players get the most out of them, whilst balancing that with the ability to be dynamic & creative where required.

      Simon in England πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

