Coaching U7s


I attended the monthly committee meeting for my local youth setup last night and had a really useful discussion with a number of the people in attendance. Firstly, it was great to be welcomed in to the club and made to feel like they valued the fact I wanted to help out.

Secondly, I was able to talk to some of the team’s coaches and managers who were all keen to understand what age group I was looking to get involved with or what age group they thought I should / should not get involved with.

I’ve been given the CRB form so I’ll be filling that out quickly as it’s the final hurdle I need to get over before I could get involved. Also, the club have kindly offered to pay for this.

The output of the meeting was that I’d start by helping to coach the U7s but they were also happy for me to spend time with some of the other age groups which would be really useful and is recommended as part of gaining experience and understanding how other age groups train, what ability they are and what children at varying ages are like (behavioural), so I shall certainly take full advantage of their offer!

All in all a really positive night and one which will hopefully lead to an exciting season, my first as a football coach!

P.S Any tips on coaching U7s welcome. Please leave a comment if you have any!

About Simon
Grassroots Football Coach

2 Responses to Coaching U7s

  1. Andy Glover says:

    Great blog. I’ve been following it for a few weeks now :o)
    Here’s a site for coaching kids – hope it’s useful:
    http://footy4kids.co.uk/ (you need to sign up before you can view it)

  2. Simon says:

    Hi Andy,

    Thanks, glad someone’s enjoying.

    Yep, already signed up and receiving the newsletters! Also on the forums which are excellent and I’m going to share both of these resources with the coaches and managers at the youth club I’m working with.

    Simon

Leave a Reply

