FA Coaching Level 2 or Youth Award Module 1?


I stated in my first post that I intend to do the Level 1 FA Coaching course in August and then follow this up by starting the Level 2 course in September. I’d aimed to do the two in quick succession for two primary reasons; 1 – the Oxfordshire FA are running an L2 in Oxford (they seem to be like gold-dust) and 2 – the content intrigues me.

However, it’s recently been pointed out to me that the FA Youth Award Module 1 might be a better second step instead of taking the Level 2 course so I’m currently trying to understand a bit more about the Youth Award in order to make a more informed decision.

From what I understand the courses have these objectives:

  • Level 2 coaching – look at coaching in more detail, specifically mapping techniques & drills to core skills as well as looking at patterns of play.
  • Youth Award Module 1 – looking at the “softer” side of coaching. Motivating young players, supporting them & understanding how to maximise the effectiveness of your coaching.

As they’re different courses there is clearly going to be value in each so I guess my question is this – would I be better to gain experience and do the Youth Award before doing the Level 2 course or should I just do whatever’s available first? [There is currently no youth award scheduled in on the OFA website].

What do you, the readers, think? If you’ve been down either of the routes I’m thinking of taking, how did it go? And would you have done anything differently?

About Simon
Grassroots Football Coach

One Response to FA Coaching Level 2 or Youth Award Module 1?

  1. Simon, I left you a PM on the Footy4Kids message board for you.

    In the meantime, I have done the Youth Award Module 1 and if you intend to keep coaching young children, I recommend it without reservation.
    The content and philosophy are fabulous and the Module 2 is of an equal standard.

Leave a Reply

